Return to Paradise (Leaving Paradise #2) By Simone Elkeles Review

Summary

Caleb Becker left Paradise eight months ago, taking with him the secret he promised to take to his grave. If the truth got out, it would ruin everything.
Image
Maggie Armstrong tried to be strong after Caleb broke her heart and disappeared. Somehow, she managed to move on. She’s determined to make a new life for herself.

But then Caleb and Maggie are forced together on a summer trip. They try ignoring their passion for each other, but buried feelings resurface. Caleb must face the truth about the night of Maggie’s accident, or the secret that destroyed their relationship will forever stand between them.

Review

I loved the story of Maggie and Caleb. I think that, despite how different they are, they work really well together. But I felt like this book got strung along a little bit. I love the plot. I like how Caleb’s is all, “I can do this on my own.” And Maggie keeps telling him to grow up. It’s cute how they act around each other.
Maggie has somehow gained even more strength since Caleb left. She was hurt, but found ways to heal. She even joined a summer trip to help share her story of the accident, but she never expected to see Caleb there. 

When Caleb and Maggie see each other again I could literally feel their anxiety. As much as they may have thought they had moved on, it was obvious that the feelings were still there. I admired Maggie’s determination and resistance of Caleb. He attempted to push her buttons but she remained composed and refused to let him rule her emotions.
And I really, really want to know what happens between Julio and Leah. Do they get their own story? Because, I would definitely read it. And through Julio and Leah’s story, maybe we could see what happened with Trish and Lenny, because you just know there’s a thing there between those two.
Endings can make or break and entire book for me. I despise if an ending (especially of an entire series) is rushed. I was extremely satisfied with this ending. I obviously won’t say what happened, and there are several surprises, but it was gratifying.

Fav Quotes

“If you tiptoe into cold water, you’re missing out on the rush of plunging in headfirst.”

“My brain tells me it will be better to just let him go.
My heart… not so much.”

“I gave you my heart, but it wasn’t enough.”

“Love isn’t about honesty. It’s about protecting the people you love from things that will hurt them.”

“Sometimes moving on takes effort. Sometimes moving on is harder than it looks.”

“If you let him go and he doesn’t come back to you, he wasn’t yours to begin with. It’s a lesson learned in first grade”

One response to “Return to Paradise (Leaving Paradise #2) By Simone Elkeles Review

  1. Pingback: The Brazilian's Blackmail Bargain | My Book Collection

Leave a Reply

