Before I Wake (Soul Screamers #6) By Rachel Vincent Review

Before I Wake By Rachel Vincent11418574

Series : Soul Screamers #6

Release Date :  June 26th 2012 by Harlequin Teen

Paperback : 339 Pages

Characters : Kaylee Cavanaugh, Tod Hudson, Nash Hudson,

Sabine Campbell, Emma Marshall, Avery, Thane

First Sentence : “I was a virgin sacrifice.”

Last Sentence : “Emma had given me reason to use it.”

Summary :

I died on a Thursday—killed by a monster intent on stealing my soul.The good news? He didn’t get it.

The bad news? Turns out not even death will get you out of high school…

Covering up her own murder was one thing, but faking life is much harder than Kaylee Cavanaugh expected. After weeks spent “recovering,” she’s back in school, fighting to stay visible to the human world, struggling to fit in with her friends and planning time alone with her new reaper boyfriend.
But to earn her keep in the human world, Kaylee must reclaim stolen souls, and when her first assignment brings her face-to-face with an old foe, she knows the game has changed. Her immortal status won’t keep her safe. And this time Kaylee isn’t just gambling with her own life….


Review :

“You’re not lost, Kaylee. You can’t ever be lost, because I’ll always know where you are. And if I’m not there with you, I’m on my way, and nothing standing between us ill be standing for very long.” 

One word..SPEECHLESS!!!!
Before I Wake amped up the tension and the suspense to a whole new level and the stakes are higher than ever. Nobody is now safe from the hellions, and they will stop at nothing to get Kaylee’s soul.
I can’t say much more about what happens without spoiling things, but this book is one of the most emotional and heartbreaking in the whole series till now. There is more death in this book than there has been in any of the previous books, and not everyone who dies is simply a stranger or an acquaintance. A number of characters from previous book make an appearance, but not all is as it seems. Everyone Kaylee knows and loves is in much more danger than they ever have been before, and this time round, the stakes are so high, I actually couldn’t see a way out of the extreme danger Kaylee, her friends and her family find themselves in. There is no let-up with Before I Wake, Vincent forces you through extreme fear, for these characters we love so much, and seething rage over what’s happening to them.
As if the creatures of the Netherwold after Kaylee was bad enough. No, Kaylee has to deal with the drama of everything- of going back to school, the pestering of her classmates, and worse of all, Nash. Oh gosh, the drama was written so well! There were such heartbreaking moments, and I couldn’t help but sympathize for the characters.And the most amazing thing is that the story actually gives you a lighter moment and makes you smile in the midst of all the pain,blood and death.

Tod was in my desk chair when I shuffled into my room in my Grinch slippers. “How much of that did you hear?”
“Enough. You were cute.”
He scowled. “I am not cute. I am the dreaded Grim Reaper. People fear me, you know. There’s a whole song about it.”
“Only because they dont know about the dimples. People don’t fear a man with dimples.” 

The way Rachel Vincent wrote the book- it was just so easy to get lost in the Soul Screamers world. Everything flowed so smoothly, and the way it was written utterly gripped me. I loved her voice as Kaylee, and it was so easy to relate to her, to sympathize with her, and just love her as a main character.
Before I Wake had one hell of an explosive ending. It seriously blew me away- I did not see that coming at all! It was a serious jawdropping cliffhanger that left me all the more excited- in other words, desperate- for With All My Soul.

Leave a Reply

