Review : Our Song By Jordanna Fraiberg

Our Song by Jordanna Fraiberg Image

Hardcover: 352 pages

Published May 2nd 2013 

First sentence : “ALMOST HOME,”my father said, clearing his throat.”

Last sentence : “No,” I said. “We saved each other.”

Summary :

Olive Bell has spent her entire life in the beautiful suburb of Vista Valley, with a picture-perfect home, a loving family, and a seemingly perfect boyfriend. But after a near-fatal car accident, she’s haunted by a broken heart and a melody that she cannot place.

Then Olive meets Nick. He’s dark, handsome, mysterious . . . and Olive feels connected to him in a way she can’t explain. Is there such a thing as fate? The two embark on a whirlwind romance—until Nick makes a troubling confession.

Heartbroken, Olive pieces together what really happened the night of her accident and arrives at a startling revelation. Only by facing the truth can she uncover the mystery behind the song and the power of what it means to love someone.

Review :

“There’s one last thing you should know. When we were on the dock that day, right before I pulled you into the pond, you were right. I was going to say something. I was going to tell you how beautiful you are.” 

I’ll start by saying that I’m in love with the cover! Although I go by the policy of not judging a book by its cover, this one certainly drew me to it 😀
About the story, it sure had me in an emotional wreck. I had like zero patience to know if our characters get a happy ending. Did they?? You’ll have to read it to find out 😛

Our Song is about Olive who has recently been in a car accident and has been feeling lost ever since. She wants her life to go back the way it was but as they say, “You don’t always get what you want, you get what you need” right?
Enter Nick. Olive meets Nick at a support group. Both of them instantly click and start hanging out together. But than a shocking and heartbreaking confession by Nick leaves Olive at a loss with herself again but this time she doesn’t give up. 
I would have liked to know more about Nick throughout the story though rather than the latter half of the book. I couldn’t help but be intrigued by Nick as I love the “Mysterious” types *grins*. The chemistry between the two of them was sweet. Sure would have liked a bit more romance between them. But I’d say the book is more focused on character development rather than the plot. I also loved Annie’s character. She’s a caring friend, funny, sassy when she needs to be, and know’s what is right for Olive.
I really liked Our Song and was deciding how many stars to give between 3 & 4 but since the book hooked me from the first page itself and never left me bored I’ll go with four stars. Our Song is a beautiful, touching, haunting novel that you won’t be able to put down. Jordanna Fraiberg is an extremely talented author. I’ll be looking forward to her next book.

Leave a Reply

