*{Blog Tour Stop}* Review + Excerpt : Sweet Home By Tillie Cole

Sweet-Home-Banner-Final1

Sweet Home by Tillie Cole
Published by Self-Published on 14th October 2013
Genres: ContemporaryMature New AdultRomance
Pages: 269
Format: eARC
Source: Author
Add to Goodreads
Amazon UK • Amazon US

18105011

Smashwords / B&N / iTunes

Synopsis :

At age twenty, Molly Shakespeare knows a lot.

She knows Descartes and Kant.

She knows academia and Oxford.

She knows that the people who love you leave you.

She knows how to be alone.

But when Molly leaves England’s grey skies behind to start a new life at the University of Alabama, she finds that she has a lot to learn—she didn’t know a summer could be so hot, she didn’t know students could be so intimidating, and she certainly didn’t know just how much the folks of Alabama love their football.

When a chance encounter with notorious star quarterback, Romeo Prince, leaves her unable to think of anything but his chocolate-brown eyes, dirty-blond hair and perfect physique, Molly soon realises that her quiet, solitary life is about to dramatically change forever…

*Mature New Adult novel—contains adult content, highly sexual situations and mature topics. Suited for ages 18 and up*

Review :

Molly ‘Juliet’ Shakespeare is an English transfer student to the University of Alabama, working toward her PhD, at only 20-years old. She has lost a lot in her life and has learned that focusing on her studies is what she needs to do to get by; even though she often feels terribly lonely.

Running into Romeo Prince, the star quarterback for the Crimson Tide, changes everything. He isn’t what he appears to be on the surface; he has secrets that he doesn’t share with anyone and is just as lonely as Molly.

I found Molly to be a likeable character from the beginning; awkward, clumsy, kind of nerdy, and with a love for crocs…she is just trying to blend in at her new school. Romeo, appears to be the typical alpha-male, sexy star football player. But, there is so much more to him than what everyone else sees. He is definitely swoon-worthy.

I think the author without a doubt did a great job with this story. It was sexy, funny, and even had a little angst thrown in the mix. I loved Molly’s friends who had her back like no one ever has before and her friend Cass had me laughing out loud. I also liked the whole play on Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet.

Overall I had a great time reading this story. I would obviously read more from this author in the future. Definitely recommended.

Rating : 4/5 Stars

Excerpt :

“So, you and Shelly?” I asked.
“Good subject change.”
“Well, there had to be a reason she was so pissed at our kiss. Even if it was just for the  initiation.”
“We’re… complicated,” he answered hesitantly.
“That sounds like a copout if ever I’ve heard one.”

“Nah, not a copout. She’s been houndin’ me since sixth grade. Our families are pushing for  an engagement. You know, to protect their investments, keep the company’s money in the  family. Our fathers are business partners. I don’t even fuckin’ like her; she’s a big old thorn in my side.”

“But? Are you going to go through with it? The engagement, I mean. I’m surprised you’d  settle down with someone you don’t want. Or even settle down at all, if the rumours are to be believed.”

Rome blew out a long, steady sigh. “Fuckin’ rumours. Look, girls just throw themselves at me. When it’s offered, I take it. Why the hell not? I don’t have a girlfriend, never have. Sex  helps me calm down from being so riled up all the time and shows folks that I’m definitely not with Shelly. I won’t apologise for it. I just like to fuck a lot and never the same girl twice.”

I’m sure my mouth gaped wide open at his crassness. But apparently, he was ignorant to my  appalled reaction.

“My parents have a set plan. I’m expected to graduate, marry Shelly, take over the family  business, and live the American fuckin’ dream.”

“So you don’t want to play football professionally? I thought I heard that you were destined  for big things?”

His face brightened. “Yeah, I do wanna play. I love it. It’s as natural to me as breathing—the  rush, the camaraderie, the roar of the crowd on game day, popping the perfect shot for a  touchdown. My parents don’t support it. They just… Hell, it don’t matter. I just fuckin’ hate my life being dictated by my folks, that’s all.”

“Then do what you want. Screw everyone else.”

Rome’s head flicked up, a dejected smile tugging at his lips. “Easier said than done.”

“You can’t live your life for other people, Rome. You have to do things that you want, achieve your dreams, in any way you want to do it. If you’re happy, then your parents surely
will be too, and if not, they’ll get over it in time. Don’t be with someone you dislike like  Shelly. Be with a girl you can’t resist, who you truly want above anyone else. Someone you  connect with.”

“Like you, Mol…? A girl like you?”

“You don’t even know me,” I whispered, wide-eyed, as he unconsciously drifted towards me.  His hand lifted and his index finger ghosted down my cheek, causing me to tremble.

“It only  took Romeo one look at Juliet and his fate was sealed. Maybe I’m just like my namesake, and  maybe you’re just like yours.”

About The Author :

Tillie-Cole-Author-Pic-120x120

Tillie Cole is a Northern girl through and through. She originates from a place called Teesside on that little but awesomely sunny (okay I exaggerate) Isle called Great Britain. She was brought up surrounded by her English rose mother — a farmer’s daughter, her crazy Scottish father, a savagely sarcastic sister and a multitude of rescue animals and horses.

Blog • Twitter • Facebook • Goodreads

Leave a Reply

