My Soul to Lose (Soul Screamers 0.5) By Rachel Vincent Review

Summary

It was supposed to be a fun day, shopping at the mall with her best friend. Then the panic attack started and Kaylee Cavanaugh finds herself screaming, unable to stop. Her secret fears are exposed and it’s the worst day of her life.B002F3PPVE.01.LZZZZZZZ

Until she wakes up in the psychiatric unit.

She tries to convince everyone she’s fine–despite the shadows she sees forming around another patient and the urge to scream which comes burbling up again and again. Everyone thinks she’s crazy. Everyone except Lydia, that is. Another patient with some special abilities….

“An eBook exclusive prequel to Rachel Vincent’s SOUL SCREAMERS series.”

Review

That’s some way to start a series. It was so damn intriguing. I sure can say that I did like it but then I have so many questions and it left me wanting more. In this short prequel, we meet Kaylee Cavanaugh and her best friend Emma. Kaylee was a very normal teenager, she has a best friend and of course teenage dilemmas. Talk about plotting revenge with the help of the best friend. Everything was fine until she had this weird feeling. Her panic attack started happening and she started seeing this black figure and then she started screaming. When she woke up she was in the Mental Health Centre.

I have to commend the author for the vivid writing. I imagined Kaylee hysterical and screaming. I was caught with the moment and ask myself what just happened? The aftermath of the commotion got me angry with Aunt Val and the whole situation. The ending had me so many questions. Questions that I think only the first book will answer. This story is completely different from anything else I’ve read in the YA paranormal genre and I would highly recommend giving it a try. My only warning would be make sure you can get hold of My Soul to Take soon after reading it as I’m sure you’ll be left desperate to know what happens next!

Favorite Quotes

“Kaylee do you know why you are here?” 
“Yeah. Because the doors are locked.”

“Great. I’m psychotic and sparkly.”

Leave a comment